

2012 Southern Region Conference

February 4 - 7, 2012 - Birmingham, Alabama

Birmingham-Jefferson Convention Complex

Host Information

Faculty and graduate students in the Department of Agricultural and Extension Education at Virginia Tech in conjunction with the Southern Association of Agricultural Scientists (SAAS) hosted the 2012 conference.

A special thank you to the following individuals who assisted in planning and implementing the conference:

Virginia Tech – Matt Benson, Thomas Broyles, Kelsey Brunton, Stephen Edwards, Keyana Ellis, Curt Friedel, Michelle Greaud, Lisa Hightower, Eric Kaufman, Kim Niewolny, Kerry Priest, Richard Rateau, Rick Rudd, Hannah Scherer, Maurice Smith, Jessica Tussing, Donna Westfall-Rudd, Brielle Wright

University of Florida - Brian Myers

North Carolina State University - Wendy Warner

AAAE - David Jones, Tracy Kitchel, Tim Murphy, Jason Peaked, John Ricketts, Michael Speiss

SAAS – Mark Legendre

Conference Registration

- 60 faculty and 78 graduate students pre-registered for the conference
- 2 faculty and 4 graduate students registered on-site for the conference
- A total of 61 faculty and 80 graduate students attended the conference

Conference	Faculty	Graduate Students	Total
2011-Corpus Christi, TX -	59	50	109
2010-Orlando FL -	65	45	110
2009-Atlanta, GA	60	47	107
2008 - Dallas TX	81	79	160
2007 - Mobile AL	60	31	91
2006 - Orlando, FL	50	38	88
2005 - Little Rock, AR	66	37	103
2004 - Tulsa, OK	67	62	129
2003 - Mobile AL	54	35	89
2002 - Orlando. FL	54	0	54

Research Conference

- A total of 56 papers were submitted for consideration to be presented at the conference.
- Each paper was sent to three reviewers for a blind review.
- A total of 36 papers were selected which is a 64% acceptance rate.
- Seventy-eight professionals were involved in the review process.

A special thank you to the following individuals who assisted with the research conference:

Discussants

University of Arkansas - Donald M. Johnson University of Florida - Kirby Barrick, Ed Osborne Middle Tennessee State University - Cliff Ricketts Mississippi State University - Kirk Swortzel North Carolina State University - Barbara Kirby, Wendy Warner Texas A&M - John Rayfield Texas Tech - Todd Brashears

Session Chair

University of Arkansas - Donna Graham University of Florida - Nicole Stedman North Carolina A&T - Antoine Alston North Carolina State University - Jim Flowers Texas A&M University-Commerce - Amy Lewis, Robert L. "Bob" Williams Virginia Tech - Eric Kaufman, Kerry Priest, Richard Rateau

Room Facilitator

Iowa State University - Alex Preston Byrd Murray State University - Brandon Wilson Texas A&M - Josh Shafer Texas Tech University - Christy Witt, Phillip Witt Virginia Tech - Kelsey Brunton, Stephen Edwards, Keyana Ellis, Jessica Tussing

Leadership Team

- Southern Association of Agricultural Scientists (SAAS)
 - Agricultural Education Division Officers
 - President and Conference Co-Chair: Tom Broyles, Virginia Tech
 - Vice-President: Brian Myers, University of Florida
 - Past President: Don W. Edgar, University of Arkansas
- American Association for Agricultural Education (AAAE)
 - Southern Region Officers
 - Vice-President: Tim H. Murphy, Texas A&M University
 - Alternate Vice-President: Jason Peake, University of Georgia
 - Secretary: David Jones, North Carolina State University

Upcoming conferences

- 2013 Wyndham Orlando Resort Orlando, FL (Feb 02-05)
- 2014 Sheraton Dallas Hotel- Dallas, TX (Feb 01-04)
- 2015 Westin Peachtree Plaza Atlanta, GA (Jan 31-Feb 03)
- 2016 Hyatt Regency Riverfront Jacksonville, FL (Feb 06-09)
- 2017 Renaissance Riverview and Battle House Mobile, Al (Feb 04-07)